Mostly (not) on McSweeney's!

A blog for my academic ideas, more or less.

Maleness

Kirsty Logan reviews Wells Tower’s collection Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned: “Each one of these stories examines a different way for a man to feel like a man.” It’s been a couple of months since I read it, but this seems pretty accurate. I’ve been reading Frederick Barthelme lately. Feel like his stories don’t see “most of the women only exist in terms of the men”. Enjoyed Wells Tower but now maybe shouldn’t. Felt there was something missing from his stories, surprise maybe? Are non-male imagined women the surprise element (and concurrently the thing I like about Barthelme? He does women in many different ways, some objectifying and some these fascinating independent entities (maybe it is all objectifying?).)? Maybe this is a retrospective doubt. I’m sorry about the punctuation in the parentheses two sentences ago. Typographic manifestation of gender anxieties.

Male Bonding do a sort of chilled session that is still pretty hype on KXLU.

I spilled beer into my shoes this morning, as I forgot to finish the bottle last night reading Infinite Jest on my bedroom floor.

Filed under: reading

Leave a Reply

my twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my flickr

buzz

born this way

arch54

arch52

More Photos

delicious

