Mostly (not) on McSweeney's!

A blog for my academic ideas, more or less.

Even More Visual Research

Excellent video essay on Wes Anderson’s visual style; does some good exposition of how dense his references are. (My interest is more in terms of how it communicates maximally with the viewer, but we’ll get to that another time.)

I did my undergraduate dissertation on the marketing, production and reception of The Royal Tenenbaums, and I’m going to use some of it (and new thinking, obv.) in a chapter on plenitude as aesthetic principle in American culture; Chris Ware, David Foster Wallace, McSweeney’s collector impulse, L.O.T.S..M.O.R.E..

(This does highlight that I’m using my thesis as a way to discuss a lot of the stuff I find cool and interesting, but this doesn’t seem to be a problem to me. I’m trying to move towards using this blog as a point of convergence, where everything I encounter can be synthesised into my research. Which should hopefully make for more interesting reading.)

Filed under: technology, , ,

Leave a Reply

my twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my flickr

buzz

born this way

arch54

arch52

More Photos

delicious

