Mostly (not) on McSweeney's!

A blog for my academic ideas, more or less.

More Visual Research

Have just been talking to an academic colleague in the British Library about different forms of description and research — how just choosing a different way of representing your subject, be it a verbal description of a photograph, or a photocopy of a journal article, gives you a new perspective.

As part of this creative/practical methodology, I’m at a point in my writing where I need to directly compare Vimeo and YouTube. Therefore I’m using Flickr as a scratchpad for me to think about this, and have uploaded two screengrabs of the output of searching for the Young Jeezy video “Circulate” on YouTube and Vimeo. I’ve annotated these photos on Flickr, linked to after the jump.

and

On the day I first got my idea about relating Vimeo to McSweeneys I noticed Kanye West mentioning the new Young Jeezy video, so that seems as good a random selection as any to illustrate the difference between the two as hosts for original content and duplicated content.

Flickr seems an incredibly useful tool for thinking visually, would be good to get some feedback on my criticism of their design!

Filed under: technology, , ,

Leave a Reply

my twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my flickr

buzz

born this way

arch54

arch52

More Photos

delicious

