Mostly (not) on McSweeney's!

A blog for my academic ideas, more or less.

More Bookcamp thoughts

So James at booktwo got me into Bookcamp, and have been trying to articulate some thoughts in the last few days. Was at a Christmas party last night in which I met a YA author, who was telling me about their recently published book. Apparently their publisher, Hodder, have cut ties with Amazon for now, because Amazon wanted to sell their books for lower prices while still retaining the same profit that they would take on the higher price. Thereby passing along the price cut as a loss to the publisher and thus writers. Suck, Amazon!

Relating this to my research, somehow, it’s interesting to think about Hodder cutting ties with Amazon. Their website is obviously about to relaunch with some kind of e-purchasing portal. McSweeney’s have had this kind of facility for years, and it gives them an independence that must be extremely useful, more so in this publishing climate. Not totally independent (see the problems they had with a distributor going bankrupt) but they undoubtedly get more money selling a book on their website than through Amazon.

Publishing seems to be grabbing my interest in terms of articulating a real-world correlate for my research, but I need to get back to my presentation and “proper” academic stuff now…

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

Leave a Reply

my twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

my flickr

buzz

born this way

arch54

arch52

More Photos

delicious

