Mostly (not) on McSweeney's!

A blog for my academic ideas, more or less.

Dying breath

Dying breath

So before I gave up on the trappings of academia (given that I work four days a week non-academically and have a PhD to complete by next summer I’ve decided to abandon conferences/papers/any hope of publication to facilitate actually finishing) I wrote a short review article of the McSweeney’s website via the theme of ‘brevity’ for the Dandelion postgrad journal. It’s up on their site now, at the bottom of the page, fittingly. It annoyed me how tricky I found it to fit my thoughts into such a short space, and reading it back now it has little (although one or two moments) of the actual interest I have in the website as a pseudo-literary space. This is evidence of the PhD pressure constricting my thoughts, hence contributing to said abandonment of anything that is not the PhD itself.

Filed under: mcsweeneys

Leave a Reply

my twitter

  • Добродеев стал гендиректором «ВКонтакте» 2 hours ago
  • Губернатора Брянской области Николая Денина отстранили от должности 3 hours ago
  • Россияне готовы отказаться от импортных продуктов 7 hours ago
  • «АвтоВАЗ» приостановит выпуск нескольких моделей 10 hours ago
  • Новые санкции ЕС не повлияют на деятельность холдингов «Ростеха» 11 hours ago

my flickr

buzz

born this way

arch54

arch52

More Photos

delicious

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

